French Language

Discuss and learn French: French vocabulary, French grammar, French culture etc.

French Vocab Games app for iPhone/iPad French-English dictionary French grammar French vocab/phrases

For the latest updates, follow @FrenchUpdates on Twitter!

There's a sentence about the philosopher Kant - "sa primauté exclusivement philosophique interdisait une popularité générale et tapageuse".

Can anybody give me an English-sounding translation?

Thanks.

Views: 411

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

"His renown which was limited to the domain of philosophy did not allow  for a sort of  noisy (raucus?) and populist following."

I am sure that can be improved upon but it might be a marker...(I am not familiar with Kant and so  don't have a good feel for the subject)

Hum...

I'm not very good at making sophisticated sentences but I can explain the meaning of this one so you can reformulate in appropriate English.

"Primauté" means "to be the best" "first rank" "number one" more in the sens of being the best at something than the first.

Here is my version, feel free to rephrase or choose the word you prefer for the pieces between [].

"his [n°1 status] only in philosophy  forbade any [rowdy/raucous/noisy] and [general/absolute/total] fame"

"foremost " is a nice word and "station" is another word for "rank" .

I wonder if "this "tapageuse"  word has any sense of "disrepectful" " and openly critical ?

I think with a semi historical  discussion you might get away with more old fashioned l language...

The fact that he accorded exclusive importance to philosophy prevented him from gaining popularity and being much-talked about./  being all the rage.

Tha fact that philosophy for him took precedence over anything else  didn't allow him to be well known and much-talked about./ largely considered as thought provoking.

Your translation of primauté is quite different to mine, Vedas.

You understand it as "priority accorded"