French Language

Discuss and learn French: French vocabulary, French grammar, French culture etc.

French Vocab Games app for iPhone/iPad French-English dictionary French grammar French vocab/phrases

For the latest updates, follow @FrenchUpdates on Twitter!

Elle ne trouve personne qui sache la combler - She can't find anyone who satisfies her. 

merci d'avance

Views: 282

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I am not an expert in the subjunctive but I would approach it this way.

Imagine it was "Elle ne trouve personne qui sait  la combler " .

The meaning would be different  and , I think it would suggest that she would  looking for people  who had the characteristic that they knew how to satisfy her -a bit as if she was looking for someone who happened to be tall , rich , fat  or from Paris etc etc.

"Elle ne trouve personne qui est de Paris" 

There would be a disconnect between her  finding this person and  making a special use of what she had found.

With "Elle ne trouve personne qui sache la combler "  there is not this disconnect  and it is as if she is not so much looking for the person per se but for  what they can do.

That is just they way I look at it  but  there is surely a lot more to it than that.(and I may not be correct either).

thanks for trying.  I'll research the subjunctive in the future and hopefully come across a rule.  Off the top of my head, I'm wondering if this qualifies as an opinion.  I could see it more easily if she were watching people dance and concluded no one knows how to.  But here, it seems more a fact than an opinion -- no one satisfies her -- but it probably is considered an opinion.  On the other hand, what if we were dealing with a fact  -- no one in the room speaks German?

Note the statement is negative and the noun is without article: the person doesn't even exist.

A non-subjunctive verb would be most appropriate in an affirmative statement with a noun with article: