French Language

Discuss and learn French: French vocabulary, French grammar, French culture etc.

French Vocab Games app for iPhone/iPad French-English dictionary French grammar French vocab/phrases

For the latest updates, follow @FrenchUpdates on Twitter!

Translation for the phrase "Make your own luck" into French

Hello -- I wanted to translate the phrase "Make your own luck" into French.  I have tried it in a few different free translation sites and it gives me something like, "Faire votre propre chance."  I'm really a beginner with French (have only had 4 years of high school French, and that was 15 years ago!) but even I know "faire" should be conjugated -- into faîtes? 

I really want to make sure this is exactly right because I would like to have a tattoo with this phrase, so I thought I would ask here.  Thank you very much in advance!

Views: 968

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

What do you think of La chance se provoque or Il faut provoquer la chance ?
Thank you for your help and for taking the time to reply.  I appreciate it!  Those are two good options.
In that* particular case, you shouldn't translate "make" by "faire" but by “provoquer”.

And in French I don’t think you can make “your own” luck (I never heard such sentence). You can have some luck (a part of "The Luck" I guess) and it’s already not so bad…

So at the end I think "Make your own luck" can be translate by:
Provoque la chance !
Or
A toi de provoquer la chance.

You could also use “Prends ta chance !” (or “Saisis ta chance !”) if you want to say “seize the opportunity”.

*: I never know if I have to use “this” or “that”. Do you have some tips in order to help me remember which one I should use (and when)?

Thank you for your help!  You and Erwan provided a lot of good options.