French Language

Discuss and learn French: French vocabulary, French grammar, French culture etc.

French Vocab Games app for iPhone/iPad French-English dictionary French grammar French vocab/phrases

For the latest updates, follow @FrenchUpdates on Twitter!

Hello all

i am new here and i joined because i would really appreciate some help in tackling the subjunctive!!!

I have been studying french for almost 4 years now and for the last 2 of those i have been taking courses with the Open University which i am really enjoying. I am hoping to live and work in France once i complete a degree in the language.

Anyway as i said i struggle with the subjunctive because i just don't understand when i am suppossed to use it???? I attempted a use at it the other day when talking to a friend i said "Tu vais me manquer quand j'aille" but i really don't know if it was suitable to use it in this sentance?!?!?!

So if anyone can help me with it i would be completely grateful.

Thanks in advance for any help i can get

Views: 534

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Don't worry too much if it takes a while to get used to the various subtleties of when to use the subjunctive. To give you an overall idea, the subjunctive is equivalent of English constructions such as David leaving, him helping me, for them to come back etc, where you're not explicitly stating that something happened/will happen, but rather you're imagining a "snapshot" of a situation.

So for example:

Je veux qu'il revienne.
I want him to come back.

Another major area where the subjunctive is used is in the equivalent of "that..." clauses of various verbs. In English, there are various verbs where you can "postpose" the verb. For example, you can say:

David said that Mark came -> Mark came, David said

However, notice that it doesn't work in a case like this:

David requested that Mark came -> Mark come, David requested