French Language

Discuss and learn French: French vocabulary, French grammar, French culture etc.

French Vocab Games app for iPhone/iPad French-English dictionary French grammar French vocab/phrases

For the latest updates, follow @FrenchUpdates on Twitter!

Hi everyone.

Pretty much complete beginner, working through the third quarter of the original introductory French course by Michel Thomas (great, by the way).

There seems to be an inconsistency in his treatment of object pronouns, (probably me being thick of course) and wondered if anyone could set me straight.

He covers the usage of lui for male/female in the sense of to him/to her which I get -

1. I'm going to send him/her the book - Je vais lui envoyer le livre.

He then gives the following -

2. I'm going to send it to him - Je vais le lui envoyer.

OK - I figure that 'it' and 'him' are both objects and so need to go before the verb.

Trouble is that a little further on he gives the following whilst discussing the way to avoid any confusion when using 'lui' -

3. I'm going to give it to him - je vais le donner a lui.

So what is the difference between 2 and 3? The verbs are different of course but both imply 'to him' and in 2 'lui' goes before the verb and in 3 it goes after!

Sorry if it is obvious but can't see it.

Merci beaucoup.  

David

Views: 725

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

The difference between 2 and 3 is informative not grammatical. Sentence 3 puts emphasis on 'à lui' saying that it's the most important information. It also implies a choice between several receivers : 'je vais le donner à lui (pas à elle)'.  In 2 the most important information is the fact of giving, not the identity of the receiver.   

Not to disagree but just to explain how I look at it (hopefully correctly).

In (2) "le" and "lui" are object pronouns without a preposition  before them . In that case their position is before the main  verb ( and in the correct order ,which is a separate matter).