French Language

Discuss and learn French: French vocabulary, French grammar, French culture etc.

French Vocab Games app for iPhone/iPad French-English dictionary French grammar French vocab/phrases

For the latest updates, follow @FrenchUpdates on Twitter!

Hi

I'm sorry to post such a boring question, but I'm stuck.

I would love to learn french and apart from learning a small amount during school, I am a complete beginner.

The trouble is, I don't know where to start.

I don't know whether I should I start by learning verbs, nouns, adjectives.. or start on grammar, sentence structure etc,.

I've tried starting from various angles, but I seem to get muddled up.  I know that no way is the right way, but if anyone could suggest a start point, I would be extremely grateful!!!

Many thanks

Rachel

Views: 168

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

When I tried to learn a bit of German I found a school exercise book and made a start on it.

After a while I lost interest because I had no practical need but as a form of learning I would say it is good and would be even better if carried out in any kind of a group setting.

As for reading material I would be looking out for anything written for children.

I am not sure about the internet....

I used FRENCH IN THREE MONTHS by Hugo because the vocabulary  listings had pronunciation phonetically (i.e.: parlez (par-lay) moi (mwa), etc.).  It was very, very basic.

The lessons got more intense as you moved through the book.  I did not move to lesson two until I completely learned lesson one, etc.  (Also, answers to translations, etc are at the back--No cheating, though).  I used a wire-bound notebook and did all the exercises.  I live in Manhattan, NY and would often memorize the vocabulary listings on the subway rides to and from work.

I also bought a good French/English dictionary.