French Language

Discuss and learn French: French vocabulary, French grammar, French culture etc.

French Vocab Games app for iPhone/iPad French-English dictionary French grammar French vocab/phrases

For the latest updates, follow @FrenchUpdates on Twitter!

I just started learning French a few weeks ago. Now I'd like to learn about Les pronom toniques. Thanks

Views: 21608

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Here are they :

Moi : Me

Toi : You

Lui : Him

Elle  : Her

Nous : Us

Vous : You

Eux : Them (maculine)

Elles : Them (feminine)

Be careful with nous and vous. Do not mix the subject and the tonic pronoun.

Ex : Nous quittons l'appartement : we're leaving the flat

Ils nous quittent  : They leave us

Vous nous quittez : You left us

It's also worth noting that these so-called "stressed"[1] pronouns aren't actually used to the same extent as the object pronouns "me", "him" etc in English.

In English, you would say I'm leaving him or He's leaving me. But in French, it's not grammatical to say Je quitte lui or Il quitte moi.

The "stressed" pronouns in French are basically used:

- as the object of a preposition (c'est pour moi)

- when conjoined with another subject/object: Marie et lui viennent = Him and Marie are coming; Je vois David et lui = I'm seeing David and him[2].

- when the pronoun isn't exactly a simple subject or object-- basically when you "don't know what else to do with it", it's probably a stressed pronoun (Je vois Marie, pas lui = I'm seeing Marie, not him; Moi, je viens demain = I'm coming tomorrow -- the extra "moi" added for emphasis/contrast)